Paleo Autoimmune Protocol, Day 19 (Cooking Day!)

For the month of January I’m following the paleo Autoimmune Protocol (AIP). It’s like a Whole30 – just minus eggs, nightshades, seeds & nuts. It’s a little insane, but the only way to truly find out if a skin issue I have is autoimmune in nature or not. For more information, see my preparation post.

This was the third cooking day during my AIP adventure – one more of full AIP next week, and then it’ll be time for reintroductions. Since I also have Monday (MLK Day) off from work, we didn’t do nearly as much cooking as we usually did, but here’s what we have so far for this week (or planned to finish tomorrow):

– Two pounds of garlicky beef meatballs, with an additional 3oz of pureed beef liver thrown in. I did this with chicken liver in my meatballs last week, so here’s hoping it works with beef.
– Riced cauliflower
– Roasted chicken (which we mostly ate today), the carcass of which will turn into chicken broth tomorrow
– Bone broth
– Cherry-Braised Crockpot Roast, using the jist of the sauce from Autoimmune Paleo’s Cranberry-Braised Short Ribs. Just, you know, cherries instead of cranberries because we can no longer find cranberries anywhere.
Indonesian Beef Chicken Curry
Paleo Sweet Garlic Chicken
– Sweet potato hash

We also have canned tuna and salmon, bags of greens, and ground beef for the inbetween meals. I’m definitely aiming to get more greens than I did last week, and keep with the lower sugar. Kinda thwarted myself with the pie, but it was totally worth it. 🙂

Wot I ate:
– Steak & tea for breakfast
– Dried mango slices and roasted chicken for lunch
– Key lime pie for dessert
– More roasted chicken for dinner
– Broth for dessert

Huh. Little to no vegetables. I bet that’s why my stomach was a bit upset in the evening. I should really try to eat better on cooking days, but frequently we’re already out of food and I’m so busy chopping stirring slicing baking that it’s hard to then stop and make something appropriate. The obvious remedy for this would be cooking even more in advance, but alas, this is a persistent problem that I’ve had trouble solving. We always have just enough food to make us through Saturday, but no further. It’s uncanny.

Rash is still in its holding pattern, but everything else is doing well. My skin is healing in places I never expected it to, and a scar on my shin that I’ve had for well over a year is fading.

Skin is weird, guys.

Leave a comment

Filed under AIP, diet, paleo

Leave a Reply

