Paleo Autoimmune Protocol, Day 18 (The Day of Key Lime Pie)

For the month of January I’m following the paleo Autoimmune Protocol (AIP). It’s like a Whole30 – just minus eggs, nightshades, seeds & nuts. It’s a little insane, but the only way to truly find out if a skin issue I have is autoimmune in nature or not. For more information, see my preparation post.

Day 18 was a lot of on the road, out of the house time. We went to Ikea for the whole morning to finally organize my office and our closets and, although we didn’t quite get everything we needed for the closets, my office now has an awesome standing desk. But road time meant lots of packed food time, and although I was a bit anxious about being away from home and microwave for so long, it actually went quite well.

Wot I ate:
– Tea and a piece of key lime pie for breakfast
– The rest of the beef soup for second breakfast (ie, real breakfast). I had this in the car in a coffee tumbler, which kept it warm until I was ready to be hungry.
– More key lime pie, an avocado & a leftover burger for road snacks
– Steak, greens, and roasted carrots & beets for lunch
– A little more key lime pie for afternoon snack
– Burger with sauteed onions and mushrooms for dinner
– Broth with (accidentally) dehydrated cauliflower for dessert. Turned into a pretty delicious soup.

I may have gone a little overboard on the pie, but I promise they were all very small slices. Also it was super delicious. I had to try it first thing before (for) breakfast, out of sheer curiosity. It works! Gelatin stands in for the egg custard and dates make up the bulk of the crust. I mean, it’s not the real thing, but it stands in well for the real thing. And as a born & raised Floridian, I think that says a lot.

I’ll be using that crust for any future pies that call for graham cracker crusts, definitely. It has that bite, some crunch, and a good amount of that honey sweetness. It also holds together wonderfully well. It’s one of the better – if not best – gluten free crusts I’ve made.

God, I love key lime pie.

Leave a comment

Filed under AIP, diet, paleo

Leave a Reply

