Paleo Autoimmune Protocol, Day 14

For the month of January I’m following the paleo Autoimmune Protocol (AIP). It’s like a Whole30 – just minus eggs, nightshades, seeds & nuts. It’s a little insane, but the only way to truly find out if a skin issue I have is autoimmune in nature or not. For more information, see my preparation post.

Wot I ate:
– Tea & broth
– Steak with sauerkraut & half an avocado for breakfast
– Plantain chips, pumpkin gummies, and blackberries with coconut cream for snacks
– Carrot & Sweet Potato Chili with the other half of the avocado for lunch
– Moar roast chicken for dinner
– Mango slices & sweet potato chips for dessert
– Magnesium

Definitely working the dinner-for-breakfast angle well. I think I like it. It was a bit of a mental leap, but now that I’ve taken it, steak for breakfast = win.

My intestines are still not happy, though. I’ve stopped drinking our kombucha because it gave me foul gas, but now aside from the occasional sauerkraut, I am not getting any probiotics. I’m now convinced that the yogurt and kefir I’d have on a semi-regular basis helped tons more than I gave it credit. I’m going to see if I can get water kefir – but I also only have two weeks left. It’s still worth trying, right?

Two weeks! Wow! I’ve reached the halfway point!! I’m also at the hardest point – my symptoms all improved within the first few days and now have entered a holding pattern. I know I should keep doing what I’m doing, because healing takes time, but it’s hard without that feedback. Knowing that everyone doing the Whole30 is having similar difficulties helps tons, though. And keeping this daily log all but forces me to continue.

I’ve got this. Halfway! I’m already planning my reintroduction schedule. Egg yolks first… yeesss…

Leave a comment

Filed under AIP, diet, paleo

Leave a Reply

