Paleo Autoimmune Protocol, Day 13 (Dun dun duuun)

For the month of January I’m following the paleo Autoimmune Protocol (AIP). It’s like a Whole30 – just minus eggs, nightshades, seeds & nuts. It’s a little insane, but the only way to truly find out if a skin issue I have is autoimmune in nature or not. For more information, see my preparation post.

Day 13 was long and dragging, but not because of AIP. This illness has settled into my lungs, where it is forcing me to cough hard to get it out. Argh. I also suspect not eating much on day 12 has contributed to my overall feeling of lethargy.

Wot I ate:
– Tea & chicken/bone broth mix (with sea salt & turmeric)
– Pan-seared salmon with sautéed beet greens and a honey blackberry glaze for breakfast (sounds super fanc’, but is really super easy to make)
– An apple, plantain chips, dates, & dried cherries for snacks
– Baked green chicken with roasted broccoli, brussels sprouts, & squash for lunch
– Carrots, celery, & cucumber with the coconut dill dip for afternoon snacks
– Roasted chicken and pumpkin pie gummies for dinner

Definitely better with the shoving-food-in-mouth portion of life today. I should’ve had more for dinner, but a coughing fit left me nauseous after a little bit of chicken.

I am so ready to be well again. I haven’t been exercising because of the sick in my lungs and it’s driving me bonkers. I need to do something and walking isn’t quiet sufficient. I’ll see if my lungs clear today, because I’d really like to get back to weightlifting soon. Plus, I’m losing weight which is not at all on my plan. I have weight to lose, for sure, but I have a sneaking suspicion it’s all just muscle going away. 😦

The food is tasty, though. I’ve always loved Nom Nom Paleo‘s green chicken. It’s best grilled, but baked is fine too. Also would never have had salmon for breakfast before this, but it worked well. The blackberry glaze is simple, too – after your fish is done cooking in the pan, remove fish and throw on some blackberries and a squirt of honey. Deglaze it with a little water and cook until the berries seep their delicious juices, then pour over your fish. No skill required. Just delicious, delicious fish.

Leave a comment

Filed under AIP, diet, paleo

Leave a Reply

