Paleo Autoimmune Protocol, Day 9

For the month of January I’m following the paleo Autoimmune Protocol (AIP). It’s like a Whole30 – just minus eggs, nightshades, seeds & nuts. It’s a little insane, but the only way to truly find out if a skin issue I have is autoimmune in nature or not. For more information, see my preparation post.

You know those little white lines you sometimes get on your nails? Yeah, the ones some people say indicate calcium deficiency, while Doctor Google insists it’s all a myth and it’s caused by trauma to the nail while it’s growing. I had them persistently for the 10 years I was a vegetarian, despite little to no nail trauma. Within a month or two of going paleo, though, I was surprised to see they’d disappeared. Since then, I’ve slammed my nails into walls, dropped barbells on them, scrabbled in dirt, and subjected them to all sorts of Crossfit-related trauma. Not a single white spot.

Until now. Now I’ve got two, and I’m a little worried. This has been since I started AIP, and since diet is the only thing that’s changed for me, I’m willing to place my money on that being the cause. Sorry, Doctor Google. It just doesn’t add up.

Now what is causing it, exactly, or lack of what, I have no idea. But I’m going to be more careful about eating enough greens and drinking my bone broth. If it’s a mineral deficiency, then the bone broth should help. I just made a big batch this weekend – time to drink up.

Today, I ate:

– A cup of broth, two cups of sautéed greens, and five lamb kofta meatballs for breakfast
– Tea
– A sweet potato, half an avocado with some olive oil, and a mason jar full of half bone, half chicken broth for snack
– Beef heart with chimichurri sauce and stir fried broccoli for lunch
– Small apple for afternoon snack
– Grassfed burger with sauteed onions and sauerkraut for dinner
– Blackberries drenched in coconut cream for dessert

Feels a little more balanced on the carb side today. I was definitely famished after not eating much the last two days.

Things are going smoothly. I only occasionally cry out for dairy now. 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under AIP, diet, paleo

2 responses to “Paleo Autoimmune Protocol, Day 9

  1. Curious about an update on your nails? Did you isolate the cause?

    I had beau lines on one nail for about 10 years. My doctor never figured it out – first thought fungal and it wasn’t – and I had given up asking about it. Just walked around with this really fugly nail with ridges and dents. Then I tried AIP for 30 days (well 15 days all the way and then 15 days I added back nuts and eggs and non-refined sugar). Dents disappeared! After 10 years! Craziness!

    • I haven’t isolated the cause yet, but I also haven’t had any new lines since starting the AIP. The one I had right at the beginning has long since disappeared, and I hypothesize that it might have been from the stress of the change and/or coupled with really poor eating over Christmas. If they show up again with a reintroduction, though, I’ll definitely note it, although I bet it’s more of a mineral deficiency than something autoimmune.

Leave a Reply

