Paleo Autoimmune Protocol, Day 8

For the month of January I’m following the paleo Autoimmune Protocol (AIP). It’s like a Whole30 – just minus eggs, nightshades, seeds & nuts. It’s a little insane, but the only way to truly find out if a skin issue I have is autoimmune in nature or not. For more information, see my preparation post.

I woke up with a horrible headache and nausea so intense I had to sit down on the floor before I’d made it halfway to the bathroom. I crawled back into bed and begged Lady for some naproxen sodium and chicken broth. Naproxen isn’t allowed on the AIP – it’s an NSAID – but it’s the only pain reliever we have in the house. And at this point taking naproxen was a much better alternative to calling in sick for a second day.

I’m almost 100% certain my sensitivity is not an NSAID, considering I very rarely resort to pain killers these days. Three times a year wouldn’t account for my more frequent flare-ups. Also fuck it – I sliced my thumb in two. I think I can be allowed some pain relief.

Now that the headache and nausea are gone, I feel a whole lot more human today. Whatever I had came and went pretty quickly, thankfully – it just left me with a scratchy throat. All the better to earn more sympathy at work. >:)

Today, I ate:
– Broth, some naproxen sodium, then the rest of the chicken soup for breakfast
– Dates, dried currants, dried apricots, roasted brussel sprouts & butternut squash for snack
– Tea, after I realized I hadn’t had any caffeine yet
– An avocado with olive oil for lunch
– A grass fed burger with sauteed onions & mushrooms, sauerkraut, and sweet potato chips for dinner

Not very much food, partially because my appetite wasn’t quite back yet, and partially because I didn’t want to eat before my afternoon dental appointment, and then they ended up taking an hour longer than they should have, and then it was pretty much time to go home, and –

Well.

You know.

But! I’m over 1/4 of the way through this! Yeah! What have I learned so far? First: this is really, really hard, and I am crossing my fingers a hundred times that the reintroduction goes smoothly and I can at least get eggs back. I keep wanting cheese. And eggs. And more cheese. And spices. God. Just a little chili powder? Please?

Second: you have to be prepared. There must be acceptable food available at all times. We dipped real low last week and several times I just didn’t eat because it was too much effort to put food together. Not okay. I’m doing this to get lots of nutrition, not to starve myself. This week has been going better, and I can definitely attribute that to having more food on hand.

Third: It’s so much work. I thought Whole30 was hard, but damn. At least I could eat lots of Mexican food, just over salad instead of corn tortillas. I definitely miss nightshades a whole lot more than I’d expected.

Fourth: It’s worth it. It’s totally worth it. Already I know one of these foods was causing me issues and already I feel better. After just one week.

Here’s to the remaining three!

2 Comments

Filed under AIP, diet, paleo

2 responses to “Paleo Autoimmune Protocol, Day 8

  1. Hi there, I’ve just started blogging myself, and found this blog when looking under the subject of paleo.. I too have been reading up on and working on switching to a paleo lifestyle, in part due to a long standing autoimmune disorder. I appreciate your blogging specifically about the AIP, and wish you well! Also, awesome happens to be my favorite word, so I love that that’s in your blog title 🙂

  2. I’m impressed that you seem to be doing well on it. I couldn’t limit my diet that much (that and I dislike eating red meat often).

Leave a Reply

