Paleo Autoimmune Protocol, Day 1

For the month of January I’m following the paleo Autoimmune Protocol (AIP). It’s like a Whole30 – just minus eggs, nightshades, seeds & nuts. It’s a little insane, but the only way to truly find out if a skin issue I have is autoimmune in nature or not. For more information, see my preparation post.

Oh my goodness.

Day 1 was difficult.

You wouldn’t think it would be, given that I actually started on Monday. But wow. I need to be more inventive with food next week. Or just have more on hand. This is way too much fruit.

Also bubbly. :3 Whoops.

I had a tablespoon of olive oil before my run this morn’, then tea & broth & sauteed arugula & meat balls & cilantro guacamole. Then,
– Coconut cream & blackberries & banana with cinnamon for snack
– Leftover roast beef & sweet potato & even more cilantro guacamole, because that stuff is awesome, for lunch
– A bowl of chicken soup for second lunch
– Canned salmon with olive oil, salt & garlic, and sauteed greens for dinner
– Apples & molasses for dessert (not a very good combo, btw)

My biggest struggle on day one was with a persistent headache. Tea just wasn’t doing it, but I couldn’t have coffee or NSAIDs (i.e. advil, which is the only painkiller we have on hand). Not even nutmeg. 😦 So I had to wait it out. And be a bit grumpy.

Hopefully day 2 goes better.

4 Comments

Filed under AIP, diet, paleo

4 responses to “Paleo Autoimmune Protocol, Day 1

  1. I believe it takes about a week to get over caffeine withdrawal. Maybe a little over a week. I’ve done it before, but I was never a coffee drinker (and I relapsed into drinking a couple cups of tea a day).

    • I’ve done it a few times before – the first was the absolute worst, because I’d been a hardcore coffee drinker for 10+ years. This time is going a lot smoother, thankfully. But I’m still mentally giving myself a week of less productivity. 🙂

  2. Could you do a version of Vietnamese chicken-cabbage salad? You’d have to leave out the peanuts and the peppers, but IMO the lime juice and fried shallots are what make the dish delicious.

    • I’m pretty sure you could. Maybe use more ginger & garlic to make up for the lack of spicy peppers. Then you just have to make sure your fish sauce doesn’t have anything untoward (i.e. soy or wheat).

Leave a Reply

