Paleo Autoimmune Protocol, Days 0.3 & 0.6

For the month of January I’m following the paleo Autoimmune Protocol (AIP). It’s like a Whole30 – just minus eggs, nightshades, seeds & nuts. It’s a little insane, but the only way to truly find out if a skin issue I have is autoimmune in nature or not. For more information, see my preparation post.

This initially felt a whole lot like a Whole30. I don’t usually eat tomatoes or eggplants, so that wasn’t so bad. Then it fully hit me what it meant to go without spices. Oh goodness. I must have reached for my bottle of lime & cayenne seasoning about six times at work before gently putting the bottle back down with a sad little sigh.

Since I’m trying to focus on what I can have, though, I picked up a special little grinder of pink salt from Trader Joe’s in the evening to use on my foods along with the awesome olive oil I bought the weekend before. Hopefully that will go a long way towards making my food less bland.

I also made the mistake of waaaay underestimating how much fat to bring, so I spent most of my day not-quite-satiated. I made up for that today by bringing a jar full of coconut cream and eating that with some blackberries. Omg. Decadent. I’m not trying to lose weight on this – although it’s kind of inevitable considering the restrictions – so I’m really focusing on not letting myself feel deprived. I see more coconut cream in my future.

Something I wondered before this whole experiment was what exactly one ate on such a restrictive diet. Thankfully, it’s not that bad (yet). On Monday (day 0.3) I had:
– Sautéed arugula, 3 grass fed meat patties, and part of an avocado for breakfast, plus a mason jar full of chicken broth.
– A whole avocado, a teeny tiny apple, a grapefruit, and a handful of blackberries for snack throughout the morning
– Roasted acorn squash, brussel sprouts and sugar-free bacon, and pot roast for lunch
– Sauerkraut and a grass fed burger with sautéed onions and mushrooms for dinner
– Dried mango for dessert

On Tuesday, we went weightlifting, so I had a banana with cinnamon sprinkled liberally across it (Penzey’s has the best damn cinnamon, btw) and a few pieces of chicken for post-workout snack.
– Breakfast was almost exactly the same, but with a few pieces of bacon and less avocado. A mason jar full of chicken broth.
– An apple, some dried mango, and blackberries with coconut cream for morning snacks
– Leftover burger from Monday night and half of a baked sweet potato, smothered with this amazing cilantro guacamole, i.e., a whole bunch of cilantro pureed with some avocados and salt and lime juice. Potent.
– Chicken soup that had been crockpotting all day for dinner – lots of carrots and celery and greens and garlic and delicious delicious broth.
– Dried mango for New Year’s Eve celebrations, and an avocado past midnight, drizzled with olive oil.

I also had some bubbly as part of the celebrations, which is why I technically don’t start the AIP until January 1st.

Despite some grogginess from going off coffee, things feel pretty good. Tuesday was much easier with the additional fat. Looking forward to the official start!

5 Comments

Filed under AIP, diet, paleo, progress

5 responses to “Paleo Autoimmune Protocol, Days 0.3 & 0.6

  1. I’m really impressed at your ability to follow that diet. It seems incredibly difficult.

  2. You live up to your blog name. This IS awesome. I’ve shared it in an AIP recipe group I co-host on Facebook. There are a lot of new members in the group since January 1st, and I know they’ll find your daily diary really helpful. Thanks for joining the AIP blogosphere!

  3. Saundra

    When you say coconut cream, do you mean the cans of coconut milk? Or is it a different product?

    • Actually, it’s coconut cream from Trader Joe’s. It’s denser than coconut milk, but you can use regular coconut milk. TJ’s cream has thickener in it, which is on the iffy list for AIP, so it may be better to use coconut milk.

Leave a Reply

