Eggciting!

egg-friends

Two! Two eggs! Ha ha ha!

You can see how much smaller they are than the “large” storebought eggs we get from Trader Joe’s. Upon breaking, their yolks were of a similar size, but the whites definitely a bit less.

Yes, we broke them. Yes, we ate them. I was a little surprised by the flavor – it wasn’t so much different as fuller. I’m looking forward to trying them out in baking – I’ve heard all sorts of wonderous things regarding fresh eggs and souffles. 😉

3 Comments

Filed under backyard homesteading, chickens

3 responses to “Eggciting!

  1. When I was pregnant and learned that I wasn’t supposed to eat raw egg because of the risk of salmonella, I really missed licking the batter bowl when I baked. Then I met someone who keeps backyard chickens, and I did some reading and decided that the risk of infection from small-scale free-range bug-eating chickens was so low as to be insignificant and I gratefully accepted those eggs and went back to licking those batter bowls. So… do you know anyone locally who’s pregnant? You could really brighten her day.

    • I don’t right now – one of my friends recently gave birth – but I will soon! I remember reading that in my chicken research somewhere, since on a small-scale there’s just such a smaller chance of contamination. Thanks for the reminder!

Leave a Reply

