Why I Won’t Be Doing Another Whole30

I finished up my latest Whole30 without any particular fanfare at the beginning of February. Compared to my previous two, it felt like a dud. I lost a little weight and felt a little better, but overall by the second week I was wondering why I was putting myself through it again. But I preserved through the rest of the month and wrapped up the Whole30 with little difficulty.

And then I kept going. I had a little dairy here and there but my diet didn’t really change. I had a donut one afternoon and regretted the decision for the rest of the day. So I didn’t have another.

I’d say about 90% of my diet is paleo now and I’m comfortable there. I like the food I’m eating and by allowing that 10% of wiggle room, I don’t end up focusing on what I can’t have which, psychologically, has made a world of difference once off the super-strict Whole30 program.

So if it’s been so successful, why wouldn’t I do the whole30 again? Why would I wash my hands of it and say, yup, that’s it, I’m good? Hasn’t it been working?

That’s just it – it worked. After three iterations, I’ve finally found myself working with a diet that I’m comfortable with, and that I can maintain longterm. The training wheel’s of the whole30 are off, so-to-speak, and I’m comfortable occasionally making a batch of cupcakes and eating only one and giving away the rest. Which I’ve been needing to do a lot lately as we test out various cupcake recipes for our upcoming wedding.

Or having a crepe. Or a scone or a sprinkle of cheese. Because it’s not going to consume my life and my diet like it did before the whole30. I prefer the eggs in the morning, the pile of greens for lunch, and the cabbage with steak for dinner. It’s tasty and it doesn’t make me feel bloated and shitty like pasta or pizza do and that’s enough for me now. It wasn’t after the first iteration and it still wasn’t quite after the second, but now it’s enough.

That’s not to say that I won’t throw in a week or two to get myself back on track if I stray too far, but that I’m simply comfortable enough where I am now. My cravings are manageable. I don’t miss the mochas and the spaghetti and the bagels. And I’m cool with that.

6 Comments

Filed under diet, goals, paleo, weight loss, whole30

6 responses to “Why I Won’t Be Doing Another Whole30

  1. I think you stated it well – you’ve reached the point where it’s lifestyle and not a shift in thinking.

  2. Really great post. What a great feeling to be content with your diet and yourself.

  3. Bethany

    I would LOVE to get to the point you are at. I still obsess over sugar and use fruit as the sweet at the end of the meal. Someday, maybe I’ll have the healthy relationship with food you have. Awesome!

  4. Pingback: Whole46, Day 12: What’s wrong with this picture? | Toni Gatlin

  5. aokess

    Nice to know there is light at the end of the tunnel, so to speak. I did 2 weeks of Whole30 before the holidays and am on Day 20 of my second attempt. I still don’t feel that I’ve hit my “set point” where I’m comfortable that the source of my food choices has become internal vs. external (i.e. the Whole30 rules). I like that you found your way to that place. So, now I know I can also. Thank you for this post.

  6. Pingback: The When, Why, and How of Multiple Whole30's | Whole9 | Let us change your life.

Leave a Reply

