Paleo Autoimmune Protocol Reintroduction | Grassfed Butter


Image from Wikimedia Commons

Butter! How I love thee. Let me count the ways.

One: you are delicious with greens.

Two: you are delicious with ham.

Three: you are delicious.

Butter was a little more interesting to reintroduce because I don’t typically cook with it aside from baking, and baking is (mostly) off limits during AIP because of the flour restrictions. Coconut flour just doesn’t work on its own, all right? Give me almond flour any day – just not for a few more weeks.

I used Kerrygold because in our area it’s the only readily available grassfed butter. So I tried sautéing my greens with it, then my chicken, and finally I just cut off slivers and rolled it in ham. That was delicious. And a tasty car treat.

Sidenote: our car trip AIP snacks included spice-free ham, grassfed butter, avocados, and plantain chips. They would have also included dried mangos if TJ’s hadn’t been plum out. :(

I also – unwittingly – reintroduced some nightshade spices this weekend. We were out of town for family things, which only made sticking to the AIP that much more difficult. What with cake and cupcakes and chocolates and cookies and pizza everywhere, I was proud of myself for sticking to the chicken and the vegetables. Until I checked the label for the chicken. Paprika. *headdesk*

Of course, not thirty minutes later, I reached for a salt/spice mix to liven up my broth. I checked the label first – dried garlic, salt, pepper, fine – before adding it, but towards the end of my broth I noticed it was really, well, spicy. I checked the label again, and there it was, somehow filtered out by my mind the first time around: and spices. Argh!

Well, I don’t seem to be worse off for it, although I would like to reintroduce them all properly in their time. And considering I was subsisting on chicken and greens alone all weekend, I think I did a pretty good job staying on track.

As for the butter… I think we’re good! No flares, no weird tummy issues, no bursts of acne. My cycle came in while I was in the midst of reintroduction to little fanfare. This was my second one since starting AIP, and again no PMS and minimal cramps.

So butter, I think you can come back. At least in the grassfed form. I’d be interested to see if conventional butter is any different, but I’m moving to chocolate next. Good, old fashioned, dark, dairy-free, soy-free chocolate. I already have some recipes in mind. :)

3 Comments

Filed under AIP, diet, paleo, reintroduction

3 responses to “Paleo Autoimmune Protocol Reintroduction | Grassfed Butter

  1. Great news about the butter, but EVEN better news that your unwitting taste of nightshades has been without incident… Good luck!

  2. Hi

    I’m on day 26 of AIP and googled around looking for advice for reintroductions. Thank you so much for taking the time to blog your progress – it’s really helpful to see someone go through the process and see how it goes. I’ve read the advice and guidelines but the real example makes it much clearer.

    Have you been regularly consuming the foods that you gave an ok to, or do you keep them minimal?

    Hoping the rest of your reintroductions go well -

    • I did the same thing during my AIP and was surprised by how few people chronicled their reintroduction. I’m glad to be of help. :)
      Basically, it’s up to you. In theory, if you reintroduce a food successfully you can eat it just as you did before the AIP. I didn’t eat much butter to begin with, because I was mostly paleo prior to starting, and now that I know it’s okay, I still only have some occasionally. I imagine that would be the same with other foods, like if I ever reintroduce eggs successfully, I’d probably go back to eating two or three a day. :)

Leave a Reply

