Paleo Autoimmune Protocol Reintroduction | Egg Yolks Part 2

Well.

That was disappointing.

I sincerely thought I wouldn’t have a problem with yolks. I thought I’d introduce them and that would be that.

Yeah, no.

Beginning last Friday, I had yolks – separated carefully from the whites and then rinsed – for four mornings. Three mornings they were plain, pan-fried and added to my usual greens & meatballs for breakfast. One morning I had them baked in a coconut cake deliciousness. Every single time I had indigestion and heartburn within two hours.

I even went a day further than I’d intended – originally I was just going to do three – to make certain. I had the exact same breakfast two days in a row, the only difference being egg yolks one day and none the next. With yolks? Heartburn. Without? Absolutely normal.

Considering how much I wanted eggs back in my diet, I doubt this is all in my head. :/ I went the rest of the week on strict AIP and haven’t had a problem since. I did notice several new spots of skin rash, though. Tiny and speckling my torso, which is beginning to look like an island-strewn map.

That sucks, but that’s also why I’m doing this whole thing. The eggs were from our own chickens, so they were cage-free, happy, soy-free, corn-free, organic-except-for-kitchen-scrap-fed super fresh chicken eggs. Definitely not any contamination in that regard.

If the yolks had gone well, I was going to do whites next. Seeing as how they did not, seed spices are now on the agenda. I plan to start tomorrow with a little mustard and a coconut chai. I’ll try egg yolks again in another month or two, give my gut more time to heal if needed. I’m not willing to give up on them just yet, but heartburn and indigestion are worrisome enough to put them off.

Here’s hoping the spices go better.

1 Comment

Filed under AIP, diet, paleo, reintroduction

One response to “Paleo Autoimmune Protocol Reintroduction | Egg Yolks Part 2

  1. I’m so sorry! There’s nothing quite as disheartening as when the body says no to a favorite food. Definitely reintroduce again in couple of months. I know a lot of people whose intolerances have healed with time.

Leave a Reply

