Paleo Autoimmune Protocol Reintroduction | Egg Yolks Part 1

It’s done! It’s over! Well, sorta…

I have segued into the reintroduction phase. Since almost everyone agrees to start with egg yolks, I began eating a few each morning on Friday. Three, to be specific, since that would be my normal intake. Today – Monday – is my last egg yolk intake day, and the rest of the week I will return to strict AIP.

So I ate yolks for four mornings, three of which was simple straight up bacon-fat-fried deliciousness. I had them with my usual breakfast, except for Sunday, when I baked them into a muffin-type thing. Specifically, this berry coconut breakfast cake. Aside from needing to halve the amount of oil (and probably halve it again next time I make it), this cake is DELICIOUS. I would highly recommend trying it once you can either attempt or actually eat egg yolks. I made them in a muffin tin because we didn’t have any ramekins and they still worked fabulous.

And the plain yolks were tasty, too, if a bit bland. I’ve learned that yolks are really hardy creatures and that you can totally rinse them in your hand in cool water to get any residual white off. I thought the internet was crazy when I came upon that tip, but it’s true! You still have to be careful – I actually let the water fill my cupped hand and kind of gently jiggle the yolk to detach the remaining white – but I only ended up breaking two yolks. Out of a total of twelve this weekend? Not bad.

I have no idea what to do with the whites, though, aside from feeding them to your non-restricted significant other. You can freeze them, but I definitely wouldn’t advise keeping them for the egg white reintroduction phase. You might overload on whites if you do.

Personally, if all goes well, I’m actually going to do whole eggs next. It just makes more sense than continuing with yolks while introducing other things. I don’t want to waste all those whites if I don’t have to.

As to how it’s going… I’m going to wait until the weekend to decide for certain, but it’s a little iffy. I haven’t had any skin flares, but I have had indigestion and heartburn all weekend. I almost never have either. I might be able to blame it on a relative protein heavy weekend, but if it happens again today I might have to reconsider.

If yolks are causing those issues, then I will set them aside to try again in a month or two. I’ll try seed spices next. If they’re not, it’s time for the full egg.

Wait and see, wait and see.

2 Comments

Filed under AIP, diet, paleo, reintroduction

2 responses to “Paleo Autoimmune Protocol Reintroduction | Egg Yolks Part 1

  1. About three years ago, I discovered that I had issues with eggs. It was heartbreaking and something I have not made peace with, I just miss them so much. I can’t wait to see how reintroduction goes for you…it will give me hope that one day I could do the same. Thanks for putting this out there!

  2. You could freeze the whites and make them into meringues when you have successfully reintroduced them.

Leave a Reply

